Today’s cake – Italian apple cake

The Marito is a big apple dessert fan, and I used to make this cake for him regularly when we first got married.  But somehow I forgot about it, and recently finding myself with excess apples, made it and remembered how good it was.  It’s almost custard like in the centre.  I have used Granny Smith and Golden Delicious for this, but you could also use a mixture of varieties depending what you have in the fridge.   Strega is an Italian liquor (and a favourite of Mamma Rosa) the addition of which is optional.

applecake

Ingredients
5 medium apples
Juice of 1 large lemon
Grated rind of 1 large lemon
4 eggs
150g plain flour
150g caster sugar
1 tsp baking powder
Pinch of salt.
20ml Strega liquor
100g unsalted butter, melted and cooled
Icing sugar for dusting

Making it
1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees fan forced. Grease a 20cm cake tine and line the base with baking paper.

2. Core and peel the apples, halve and slice thinly. Place in a bowl and cover with the lemon juice.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs and sugar with an electric mixer until thick and fluffy. Add the lemon rind and Strega and combine.

4. Gently fold in the flour, baking powder and sale. Carefully drizzle in the melted butter and gently combine, then finally add the apples and gently fold in.

5. Place the mixture in the prepared tin and level it out. Bake four about 40 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean. If the cake is browning too much on the top and not cooked in centre, cover with foil. Remove from oven, rest in tin for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack. Dust with icing sugar and serve.

3 thoughts on “Today’s cake – Italian apple cake

  1. forfoodssake

    I had to google Strega… I’ve seen the bottle in old nonni’s cupboards through the years but I don’t think I’ve ever tried it. The cake looks great….and most important, fairly simple :)

    Bianca

    Reply
  2. Daniela Modellino

    Hi,

    I was looking forward to trying this recipe.

    I made sure I had all the ingredients on hand and when it came to the method, it said “In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs and sugar with an electric mixer until thick and fluffy”.

    Yet there is no mention of “eggs” in the Ingredients list.

    My mistake as I should have read the recipe in full before I started.

    I put in 2 eggs which seemed to be ok, is that how many it’s supposed to have?

    By the way, next time and there will definitely be a next time as this cake was delicious, there would have to be at least double the amount of Strega Liquore (it’s my favourite too!).

    Thank you for sharing your recipes and life in your kitchen with us, I look forward to your emails.

    Ciao a presto

    Daniela

    ________________________________

    Reply

Leave a Reply

