Food highlights 2016

This year simple ruled.  The dishes I remember and liked most were unfussy and just plain tasty.

For instance I loved this Schiacciatella at Sud in Concord.  A very simple pizza crust with a tomato base, cherry tomatoes and a sprinkling of oregano, served with olive tapenade and pesto.

suddec

Also brilliantly simple was the asparagus triangoli from Fred’s

freds-13

The baked mash at Bouche on Bridge was silky and well seasoned, I could have easily demolished the whole bowl, but I didn’t want to look like a greedy guts!

bouche-6

And the roast short rib from Ho Lee Fook in Hong Kong, sooooo tender

holeefook (10)

On the sweet front, the almond croissant from Lune in Melbourne was spectacular, best I’ve had.

lune (12)

And the vanilla masalada from Leonard’s Bakery in Honolulu, for $1.50, was a total winner.

honolulu (53)

And finally – the dessert trolley at Bistro Guillaume full of good old French classics was a sight to behold

bistroguillaume-17

And my favourite recipes I made this year?

This crispy potato roast has very few ingredients but looks and tastes fabulous and will be making an appearance on the Christmas table

crispypotato-3

Similarly, this roast capsicum dish is so easy, and great if you have a table of shared dishes

roastcapsicum

Also on the vegetarian front is this zucchini and spinach pasta, which I make regularly

spaghettizucchini

These sweet ricotta fritters are gorgeous and it was one of my most popular posts of 2016

ricottafritters (3)

I’ve perfected Mamma Rosa’s almond bread, I was very pleased with my Christmas batch

img_0088

So that’s a wrap for another year.  Thanks to all of those who read and comment! I wish you all a lovely and peaceful festive season, and see you in 2017!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Food highlights 2016

Leave a Reply

