In My Kitchen, March 2016

There hasn’t been a lot of activity in the kitchen of late, it’s been a while since my last post.  Between work and Project Tame the Garden, there hasn’t been a lot of spare time the last few weeks.  The garden is finally starting to look “less jungle” and somewhat tidy, so we can now start to think more about how we will use the space.  By my estimate, in the last couple of months, we have removed at least three tons of overgrowth, weeds and general garden mess.  It hasn’t all gone to waste though – a few hundred excess plants we gave away.   Some went to a farm a couple of hours from Sydney, others to a project in Alexandria, and others still to random homes; I’m glad they could be put to use.

In my kitchen are some flowers from the said garden.

imkmar16 (5)

We also found in one corner a beautiful bay tree. I’ve been using the fresh bay leaves in pasta sauce and soups.  They give such a lovely aroma.

imkmar16 (9)

The boys have been asking for baguettes rather than loaves in my weekly bake, so I’ve been trying my hand at those.  I watched a few YouTube videos on how to roll and shape them.  They are still a bit wonky but they are getting better.

imkmar16 (8)

The boys also asked for some brownies.  I used Donna Hay’s standby brownie recipe which is very easy and made with pantry staples.

imkmar16 (1)

In my kitchen is this delicious chocolate with Black Truffle Salt, a thoughtful gift from one of our summer interns at work.

imkmar16 (3)

And a savoury truffle gift from a friend, I will let you know what they’re like!

imkmar16 (10)

There was also a delivery of fresh figs, from the tree of a family friend. I adore figs, and the fact that they can be used in both savoury and sweet dishes.

imkmar16 (4)

I used figs and this fantastic buffalo mozzarella in a salad.

imkmar16 (7)

In my kitchen is some elderflower cordial and Prosecco, combined with lemon, muddled mint and ice cubes to make a refreshing drink called “the Hugo”.

imkmar16 (2)

And finally in my kitchen is this amazing layered carrot cake made by a dear friend, it tasted even better than it looked!

imkmar16 (6)

Thanks to Maureen from Orgasmic Chef for hosting the monthly IMK link ups – take a peek at kitchens around the world!

 

.

14 thoughts on “In My Kitchen, March 2016

  1. thecompletebook

    What an amazingly tasty IMK installment and your frangipani flowers are beautiful. Our bay tree could keep our entire village in stock for a life time. It’s huge!
    Have a happy week ahead.
    :-) Mandy xo

    Reply
  2. Francesca

    Signorina, those beautiful frangipane flowers – I can almost smell them- are my favourite. We can’t grow them here in Melbourne and I am always envious of our Northern neighbours who have an old and productive tree. When I’m in Bali, I collect fallen flowers each day and arrange them in lines around our bungalow.
    Uncovering the Bay tree- how lovely. In winter, the bay leaves will permeates the house as you cook soup. Good to deter bugs in the pantry too.
    And what can I say about that fresh mozzarella- hmmm, lovely stuff.

    Reply
  3. mae

    In Hawaii, the frangipane flowers are called plumeria. They grow all over, and appear as a motif in jewelry and other decorative arts and above all in Hawaiian Leis. So I’m familiar with them, just by their other name. Yours look beautiful.

    best… mae at maefood.blogspot.com

    Reply
  4. Lisa

    Wow, that’s definitely a lot of delicious activity in your kitchen. Fresh bay leaves, how lucky! I adore figs, and paired with cheese is a match made in heaven! That cake certainly does look amazing. What lovely friends you have!

    Reply
  5. sherry from sherrys pickings

    yum to that carrot cake. it looks lovely. we have a bottle of that elderflower cordial too. i must try that drink! aren’t frangipanis beautiful? and so hardy. a friend had a huge branch fall off and gave it to us for some reason. we just chucked it under the house for a few months then planted it out and it grew beautifully. apparently and by sheer luck that is exactly what you are supposed to do with them! just let them dry out then plant them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

