In my (overseas) kitchens, August 2015

Whenever we travel, if we are staying in one place for more than three days, I like to try and find accommodation with a kitchenette. I just can’t handle eating out for three meals a day, day after day. Sometimes a bowl of cornflakes rather than a big cooked breakfast does the trick. And when you are visiting somewhere like Italy, where there are fabulous delicatessans and food markets (like in Florence for instance), buying local produce and preparing a simple meal is the business! So on our recent trip, in both Miami and Turks & Caicos, we had a kitchenette. And here is a glimpse into those kitchens.

In my Miami kitchen is an Illy pod coffee machine. Very cool. We also had this same machine at the house we rented in Greece last year. The Marito is Head of Caffeine in our house, and we don’t function without our morning espresso so it was great to have this.imkaug (2)

Freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. The hotel left this for the kids. They were delicious (I had to taste test to make sure they were ok for the kids to eat), reminded me of a recipe in one of Mamma Rosa’s cookbooks that I used to make, must track it down.imkaug (1)

For the grown ups, some lovely Laderach Swiss chocolates.imkaug (4)

In my Miami kitchen is a Sub Zero fridge.  These are apparently the Rolls Royce of fridges.  I’m guessing they are cheaper in the US, in Australia they are the price of a small car.  The way the circulate air – or something – is meant to be very good for food preservation, leading to less waste.imkaug (6)

In my kitchen were some basics for some sandwiches for the boys, bought from the deli up the road.  Everyone in the deli just spoke Spanish, pointing did the trick.imkaug (5)

And some “Grade A” maple syrup for pancakes.imkaug (3)

In my Turks and Caicos kitchen is some butter……from New Zealand.  I go to a tiny dot of an island in the middle of the Carribean and find NZ butter.  It was the only one that was pure butter, everything else at the local supermarket was a blend of some description.imkaug (7)

I also found it interesting that many brands of  American milk heavily marketed that they had Vitamin D.  I know in Australia we have a big Vitamin D deficiency issue, same elsewhere?imkaug (10)

Some local produce.  In Turks it only rains about 8 days a year, hence they don’t grow much and most food is imported (and expensive).  So I was happy to buy some “Provo grown” tomatoes and cucumber.  The avocado was from the US though.imkaug (9)

In my Turks and Caicos kitchen is spaghetti and sauce.  The Napoli boys can’t go too long without their pasta, no matter where we are in the world.imkaug (11)

While cooking, I was flipping through the local real estate magazine – the properties ranged from $500,000 to $25 million.  Wow.imkaug (8)

Thank you as always to Celia from Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for hosting.

18 thoughts on “In my (overseas) kitchens, August 2015

  1. Joanne T Ferguson

    What a lovely post that brightened my day! I could not get my eyes off the A Grade Maple Syrup and would love to try! isn’t it funny how we all end up with things we see and find in our travels…and they end up in our homes! Thanks for this month’s kitchen view too!

    Reply
  2. EllaDee

    A kitchen really opens up your travelling food options. And browsing local shops is always interesting, even domestically. You have the right priorities, coffee first!

    Reply
  3. Moya

    Laderach chocolates… how lovely :) I as given a selection of their chocolate bark as a gift sometime back, simply the nicest chocolate I had tasted… still think about it. That sub zero fridge sure looks classy. Love the coffee machine too, no kitchen is complete without coffee.

    Reply
  4. Kim Bultman

    Josephine, I like how you make yourself at ‘home’ while you travel. Your pasta sauce bubbling on the stove looks soooooooo tasty! Nice of the hotel to make you feel at home, too, with espresso, cookies, & chocolates! :)

    Reply
  5. Ania @ Milk, Toast and Honey

    Nice touch, both the cookies and the chocolates. I love the look of that maple syrup bottle. And I think I have just spotted our dinner tonight whilst reading your post – off to make some tomato sauce! Enjoy your holiday kitchens x

    Reply
  6. MamaD1xx4xy

    I much prefer to stay somewhere with a kitchen as well. Not only do I dislike eating out for three meals a day, but it gets to be such a chore and expensive for a family of five. Local stores and markets are,the way to go. What a lovely hotel to give you such fantastic chocolates and cookies.

    Reply
  7. Jennifer from Milk and Honey

    I truly loved taking a peek inside your kitchens. I agree that eating out for every meal when travelling is a drag. Especially with all the fresh produce markets to indulge in. We nearly always rent a house with a kitchen too. It’s so nice to be able to still have a bit of family time around the dinner table when you’re away from home.

    Reply
  8. Elizabeth

    I love that even when you are travelling you always find a kitchen :) That is fantastic. I love all you produce and I would die for a sub zero fridge :) That maple syrup had me wanting to make pancakes just so I could eat some :) Thanks for sharing! Liz xx

    Reply
  9. Lisa

    I love that you make yourself at home while on the go. So nice to have a ‘base’ and home made meals when travelling. Maple syrup is my kryptonite and that stuff looks delicious!

    Interesting about the Vitamin D. I’m a Qld’er born and bred and growing up, I got plenty of sun. Now that I’m an adult, I wear sunscreen daily and get most of my weekday sun walking to and from work (in early and late hours). During my pregnancy with baby number 2, a standard blood test said I was Vitamin D deficient and both me and baby (when born) required supplements. The Drs told me the slip, slop, slap message is definitely working… somewhat to our detriment these days apparently!!

    Reply
  10. Cate

    ooh so good to see proper maple syrup, really hard to get here in Germany. The fridge looks fascinating, I always long for a fridge with an ice maker! -Cate from IMK

    Reply
  11. tiffinbitesized

    I hear you about travelling and kitchenettes. Even being able to get up and have some cereal makes a difference when you are on the road and certainly (certainly!) none of our waistlines or palates can sustain 3 purchased meals a day in the US. It gets tiring very quickly. It looks like you may have stayed in a better class of property than we did though…

    ps: that yellow cheese…. He he he

    pps: You really should be joining in my A-Z Guidebook travel linkup. This month it’s ‘C’ – I’d love to hear about Caicos! http://www.tiffinbitesized.com.au/a-z-guidebook-travel-link-up/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

