In My Kitchen, July 2015

A short and sweet IMK post this month as life as been a little hectic!  But I wanted to show you my new baguette pan that Il Marito bought me (a gift with motive as he loves baguettes!).  I’m still tweaking baking times, technique and size as I have only tried it twice but the baguettes have been a hit and seem to disappear faster than the loaves.imkjuly (1)

He also got me a “bread slasher” which makes short work of slashing, rather than trying to angle my knife just so.  These are very very sharp, so definitely keep them out of reach of any little fingers that may explore drawers.imkjuly (2)

So here are the loaves, risen, slashed and ready to go into the ovenimkjuly (3)

Et voila! Duex baguette!imkjuly (4)

imkjuly (5)Also In My Kitchen is the homemade vanilla extract that I set to steep a few months ago.  Its now ready for use, rich and fragrant.  I used it for the first time when I made ricotta cake.imkjuly (6)

Thank you as always to the very generous Celia from Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for hosting.

14 thoughts on “In My Kitchen, July 2015

  1. Ania @ Milk, Toast and Honey

    Oh my goodness, I am drooling here over your baguettes! Delicious looking and I can almost smell them, yum. And that vanilla essence got me thinking about making my own… Thanks for sharing x

    Reply
  2. ladyredspecs

    Very professional looking loaves! Homemade vanilla essence is the best. I keep adding beans as I scrape them for custard, then as the tide drops I add more brandy

    Reply
  3. tiffinbitesized

    I didn’t even know a bread slasher was a thing so now I’m all the wiser. I like the idea of using your homemade vanilla extract in a ricotta cake so the flavour shines through.

    Thanks for the tour.

    Reply
  4. Lisa

    Those baguettes look amazing! The bread slasher looks like it’s doing a great job.

    How yummy does that vanilla look? That’s rhetorical, but I bet it tastes delicious too!

    Reply
  5. MamaD1xx4xy

    Your baguettes look fantastic! Someday I hope to have a go at baking them as well. I’ll have to look for a similar bread slasher, what a brilliant product. The vanilla essence is also great, I love using mine in everything I bake.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

