Whiskey biscuits

I tore this recipe out of an issue of now defunct SBS Feast magazine to make one day, and today was that day. Such a shame they discontinued it, it was one of my favourite food magazines. If you don’t want to use whiskey, vanilla would also work or I think coffee would be nice. Very easy.

whiskey biscuits

Ingredients
120g unsalted butter, softened
55g caster sugar
2 teaspoons whiskey
1/2 teaspoon salt
120g crumbled walnuts
150g plain flour
Icing sugar, for dusting


Making it

1. Pre-heat the oven to 150 degrees celsius
2. Cream the butter, sugar, whiskey and salt on low speed using a paddle attachment for 5 or so minutes, until pale and fluffy
3. Carefully fold in the walnuts and flour
4. Using a dessert spoon, gently shape into small balls. I ended up with 30 or so. Very gently flatten and put in the oven for 25-30 minutes, until golden
5. Allow to cool and dust with icing sugar

6 thoughts on “Whiskey biscuits

  1. Francesca

    Like you, I am saddened by the demise of Feast magazine. I am no trying to snap up the old ones I see in second hand shops. These bickies look very tasty: can you send me abatch to west java?

    Reply
  2. Francesca

    Does the whisky taste come through? How long do they last in the tin( if they last at all). Just for storage purposes as I will make these for Christmas gifts,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

