Product review: My Food Bag

foodbag1a

Growing up I remember Mamma Rosa frequently saying “what should I make for dinner tonight?”. I took it for granted that there was quite a lot of effort involved in putting together a dinner for six people seven nights a week; it was never just one course, and invariably delicious. Fast forward and I often find myself asking my husband and boys “what would you like me to make tonight?” (and sometimes quietly crossing my fingers that they won’t suggest something that is hugely time intensive, because once I’ve offered them the choice, I can’t really say no to what they ask for).

So along came My Food Bag, which takes all the angst out of deciding what to cook, opens your eyes to possibilities, saves you a lot of time, and is fun to boot. Launching in New Zealand in March 2013, where it has been hugely successful, it launched in Sydney in July 2014, Melbourne this month, and is soon to launch in other Australian cities. My Food Bag delivers to your home a selection of recipes, AND everything you need to make them (minus a few pantry staples). There are three different Food Bags on offer, delivered on a Sunday so you’re all set for the week ahead:

The Family Bag, designed for a family with 2-3 young children ($169 for 5 people for 5 days)
The Classic Bag, designed for a family of 4 with two older children or 4 adults ($129 for 4 people for 5 days)
The Gourmet Bag, designed for two people ($149 for 2 people for 4 days)

They also have a great Christmas Bag available at the moment, which caters for a feast for 8-10 people, and have just launched some personalised cookbooks. Fruit bags are available too.

The website is full of information, telling you what kitchen equipment and pantry staples you’ll need – and the average home cook would pretty much have all they list. No sous-vide machines required here.

foodbag8I realise quickly that it’s a well run operation. On Friday I get an email telling me what recipes I’ll be cooking next week. They all look delicious and I can’t wait to get started. On Saturday they send me a text telling me the two hour window for my delivery. And on Sunday it arrives as promised. Its feels a bit like Christmas as my husband and I unpack all our beautiful goodies. My husband’s family owned a fruit and vegetable business for many years, so he is quite critical of quality, and declares everything to be “top notch”. The proteins look great – organic meat and free range chicken – and everything is meticulously labelled. The tinned tomatoes are Mutti which is a Mamma Rosa approved brand, and the cannelloni shells are Barilla which is approved by all 200 of my cousins in Italy.

foodbag2

foodbag3foodbag4foodbag6

Your first delivery will also come with a little folder where you can store your recipe cards. It is all too easy. The seasonally based recipes are developed by their head Chef, Miguel Maestre (from Channel 10’s The Living Room), in consultation with the team in their test kitchen. You can give feedback on the recipes on the website or on their Facebook page; each week the team behind My Food Bag pour over the client comments to see what the response has been to that week’s dishes and putting them together.

foodbag7
That week I cooked chorizo, kale and ricotta cannelloni, macadamia crusted snapper with asparagus, seared beef with pumpkin and beetroot salad, and prosciutto wrapped chicken with pistachio stuffing, corn salsa and watercress salad.  I can’t plate up like Miguel, but you get the drift!

myfoodbag

The recipes vary in time and complexity, some are all done in 25 minutes, but the cannelloni took closer to an hour. I would cast my eyes over the recipe for that night in the morning, and see if there was any prep that would be easy to do before work. So for the cannelloni I prepared my filling in the morning and put it in the fridge, ready to assemble that evening. But the fish dish was all done and on the table in 25 minutes, and with the potatoes, fish and asparagus being prepared in the oven, clean up was minimal which was an added bonus. They even tell you the calorie and fat count for dishes, as well as suggesting a wine paring.

Here are the things I really liked:

Little food waste. Food waste upsets me, and Australia, the Land of Plenty, is one of the world’s worst culprits. We throw away an estimated $8 billion of food each year (this is more that the entire GDP of several countries). Over the last few years I’ve made a very conscious effort to buy only what I’m fairly certain we will use or on an “as needed” basis (Mamma Rosa often looks very alarmed at the relatively bare state of my fridge and thinks I may be starving my children). My Food Bag, by giving you the exact ingredients that you need, really cuts down on waste.

It makes you more adventurous. There were some great salad combinations, and ingredients I don’t normally use like radish, or poppy seeds thrown in for texture. The team behind My Food Bag are committed to variety – in the first 15 months of operation, they never once repeated a recipe, and are only now doing the occasional recipe repeat based purely on customer demand

It teaches you that great food can be quick. Most meals probably take an average 35 minutes, and it’s really quite surprising what you can get on the table in that time when you don’t have to think about it, someone has thought of it for you.

The convenience factor. It really can’t get much easier than this.

Flexibility. You can have a standing “subscription” where it is delivered every week, suspend it during holidays, or just order it on an as desired basis

Quality – great stuff!

Good portion size. I found the portions to be generous, they were probably just right for my husband and a little too big for me.

My Food Bag
http://www.myfoodbag.com.au

Disclosure: Napoli Restaurant Alert was given a sample of My Food Bag’s Gourmet Bag. All opinions are my own and not influenced in any way.

6 thoughts on “Product review: My Food Bag

Leave a Reply

