The hunt for Sydney’s best cannoli – part II

After sharing my post on Sydney’s best cannoli to an “Italians in Sydney” group, there was a bit of an outcry that I didn’t include Mezzapica.  It was not intentional, I just forgot about them (my brother-in-law too shook his head in disbelief).  Which is a bit odd, considering that at the two hundred or so Italian weddings I went to at the Mediterranean House and Festival House growing up, everyone got their wedding cake and other sweets from Mezzapica.  And we also used to buy cakes, cannoli and biscuits from there for family occasions.  But somewhere along the way my mother became a devotee of Blue Star, and this became the default cannoli location.  My first test included Blue Star, Marineve, Tamborrino and Dolcetti.  It was time for round two.

So one sunny morning, off I went to Leicchardt to Mezzapica.    I also recently tried some great cannoli at a friend’s birthday party, and she told me they were from Cavalicious, so I decided to stop in there on the way home, and a little further up the road at newcomer Mercato e Cucina.   Once again, traditional ricotta flavour had to be the benchmark.

cannoli2

And yes, the masses were right.  The Mezzapica cannoli were fantastic, crunchy shell, creamy not-too-sweet ricotta.  But I have to say, Cavalicious, while a slightly different flavour to its shell, were excellent too, will definitely be buying both of these again. Mercato e Cucina’s version was probably my least preferred of all seven (gosh I am glad I did this in two parts, imagine eating seven at once) – loved the pistachio topping, but the filling and the casing, while good, just weren’t to the standard of all the others.

A good bit of time after this, I tried the cannoli from Dolcettini.  I’ve been wanting to get there for an age, but I don’t find myself in Dural often as its quite a hike.  But wow, I think the drive is worth it! Crunchy case, gorgeous filling, an all round excellent package. Right up there!

dolcettini

You’ve got to admit, regardless of your cannoli preference, that it is great to be this spoilt for choice.

Mezzapica Cakes, 130 Norton Street Leichhardt, ph (02) 9569 8387
http://www.mezzapica.com.au

Cavalicious Patisserie Cafe, 213 Victoria Road, Gladesville, ph (02) 9879 7378
http://www.cavalicious.com.au

Mercato e Cucina, 297 Victoria Road, Gladesville, ph (02) 9817 9457
http://www.mercatoecucina.com.au

Dolcettini Patisserie, 829 Old Northern Road, Dural ph (02) 9653 9610
http://www.dolcettini.com.au

Mezzapica on Urbanspoon

Cavalicious Patisserie Cafe on Urbanspoon

7 thoughts on “The hunt for Sydney’s best cannoli – part II

  1. Francesca

    What a great post. Maybe I should do a Melbourne one! Although the best offerings would be so spread out across the suburbs, I would need a fuel voucher!

    Reply
      1. Francesca

        Brunetti’s is good. But some of the ‘old school’ cannoli are around Preston and Coburg. I am thinking of Lucchini’s as I write and I fancy one right now.

  2. Simon

    CAVALICIOUS Canolli are the best I’ve tasted so far, combine that with the excellent coffee they make, and you’ve got yourself an excellent treat!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

