Leek, Zucchini and Pea Soup

zucchinisoup

I rarely buy cookbooks these days.  There are so many great recipes available in newspapers, magazines, and online that I’m less inclined to.  At one point my stash of cookbooks got unwieldy, so I went through them all and marked with post-its how many recipes in each book I would actually make. Anything with a handful or less went to charity.

SMH’s Good Food on Tuesdays (it is the only reason I buy the paper on Tuesdays) is always a good source of inspiration.  When I saw this recipe from Pete Evans, I knew it would be the perfect winter warmer. I doubt he’d serve it with bread, given he’s gone all Paleo these days, but I couldn’t resist putting a few crunch toasted bits in it.   He also used coconut oil, but I used my regular extra virgin olive oil.  Speaking of which, I’m really loving Australian oil Cobram these days; I usually buy imported Italian or Spanish, but I’ve discovered the fragrant fruitiness of Cobram, though it does come with a higher price tag.

Serves 4

Ingredients
2 tbps extra virgin olive oil
2 leeks, white and light green parts only, sliced
4 large zucchini, diced
200g fresh or frozen peas
1.3 litres chicken stock
4 sprigs thyme, leaves picked and finely chopped
1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
2 fresh or dried bay leaves
sea salt and freshly ground white pepper

Making it
1. Place the oil in a large saucepan and saute the leek over a medium heat for a few minutes.
2. Add the zucchini and cook for about five minutes. Add the peas and half the stock and bring to the boil.
3. Reduce the heat, add the thyme, nutmeg, bay leaves and salt and pepper to taste. Cook for another five minutes, or until fragrant, then add the remaining stock and simmer for 30 minutes.
4. Remove the bay leaves and blend until smooth.

Easy and delicious!

3 thoughts on “Leek, Zucchini and Pea Soup

  1. Francesca

    Great recipe. I’m glad you switched to Cobram. At $23.00 or so for 3litres for a cokd pressed correctly labelled EV olive oil, it isnt much more. Did you know that impiorted oils are often post mixed and adulterated with second or third pressing sludge from elsewhere? We know that if we buy Australian Oil, the industry will remain alive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

